I Speak “Abby”

I am totally and utterly consumed with how much I love my kid. It’s SO cliché, but the idea that you just have no clue how much you can love someone until you have a child is beyond true. And when you try to describe it, you sound ridiculous because there are no words that encompass it. There is just this physical pressure you feel swelling in your chest when something new happens that makes you love them MORE (right, cause that’s possible…)

I seem to think that a lot lately – how could I possible love her more? I’m pretty sure I’m at capacity, and then Abigail does something new and exciting that makes me so proud and so in awe of her progress that I just have to realize that I’m NEVER going to reach the limit. Because there isn’t one.

Anywho – I’m gushing because I have had that familiar chest-swell several times over the last week, almost all of which were caused by a new word Abby learned to say. This girl is TALKING. Ok, let me be clear – she is talking at the level any other one year old can do… the words are hardly audible or consistent, and you can tell that sometimes she says something and has no clue as to what she is saying. BUT she is speaking words. Words that Anthony and I can understand.

Have you ever tried to understand a toddler and asked them multiple times to repeat themselves only to realize you have NO CLUE what they are trying to tell you? And then their parent swoops in and translates in 2 seconds, as if it was totally obvious that they were asking for another piece of Chicken, please! (because you know you distinctly heard them say, “novpea chi mmmmmm, eeeeeeeeeeeeeeeevvvvvvvvvvvvv”). Well, at least they said, please! 😉 Well I’ve just become that parent.

I’m totally guilty. My 3-year-old niece and my 2-year-old nephew speak volumes more than Abby, but there are times when repeating themselves 5 times does absolutely nothing to help them get what they want out of me. But when Abby utters a “Aaaan oooooo” I know she just said Thank you. When she says “Ta ta ta ta” she is saying “Teta” (her Grandmother, Anthony’s Mom). Ma’am is Mom. DaDaDaDddd is Dad. Those are easy. “Eah” is Yes. Thank Heaven she doesn’t know “No” yet!

She has said Peh Peh Phy which I translate to Poppi (her grandpa, my dad) and NeNeNan which is Nana (her grandmother, my mom). And she will at least attempt to mimic whatever you say when you ask her “Can you say….” That is how I got the Thank you! On top of all of that, she just talks. All day. Sometimes she even sings. It’s nonsense, but she still manages to communicate nonetheless. She points to things and squeals. She says, “Bah! Bah! Bah!” about a gazillion times a day, which to her I’m sure means something very significant. I just have yet to figure out what it is.

So, there it is. Every day there is a new sound that sounds too similar to the appropriate word to be a coincidence. She’s talking. And learning at an alarming pace. And if that darn chest-swelling thing doesn’t figure out how to control itself soon, I’m going to need a whole new set of tops! Because it happens every time I feel this crazy affectionate pride every time she learns something new.

-Jen

Leave a Reply

