I’m going for it

You know those “aha” moments people talk about? I had one of those. Last Monday. In my car.

Not exactly the place or way I expected to have such an auspicious moment. There I was, driving home from work, and out of no where, I made a decision. A big one. In the 12 minutes it took to get from my office to my driveway, I decided, without a shadow of a doubt, that I am going for it. I am going to write a book.

(Pause for dramatic effect…)

I know, I know, I know – we’ve talked about this already, right? Yes, we have. I’ve been told by more people than I can count that I should write a book. I’ve asked opinions and suggestions and ideas. I’ve said maybe I will, I’ve said I’ll think about it. But until a few days ago – I had not made up my mind about any of it – the what, the when,the if, or the how…

I still don’t know how it happened. It sort of came out of nowhere and I found myself suddenly talking to my dog (who comes to work with me) about it all. And I asked Captain Pup, “why not? I mean, seriously – why am I hesitating?” He tilted his head in his cute little way and stared back at me as we sat at that red light. His look said, “No idea! You tell me why not?” Well, it’s a lot of work, for one. And for two, I had no real focus about it. I couldn’t pin point what I wanted to write about. I have several ideas, none of which I really liked. And then it hit me – in that same moment that I decided to do this, I decided how. I told Pup, “You know what? I’m just going to write my story.” He agreed. Or, at least I think that is what he meant by wagging his tail at just the right moment. I’m going to write it like I write everything else you all read here. In fact, I’m going to use my blogs as a sort of outline. I’m going to be candid and honest and occasionally witty. I’m going to capitalize too many words and italicize too many others. I’m going to use WAY too many commas and dashes – but I’m just going to do it.

I have no idea how long it will take. I have no idea how long the story will be. I have no idea what exactly I’m going to say. But the end result will be the same. I’m going to put pen to paper (really fingers to keyboard) and write a story about pregnancy, birth, parenthood, motherhood, and what it means to be a family with a Mirco Preemie.

So there. I’ve shared my aha moment with the world. I feel good about it. And I hope your constant nagging in the near future about wanting a ‘sneak peek” will keep me accountable. πŸ˜‰

-Jen

P.S. I came up with the MOST AWESOME book title ever, only to realize (after a quick internet search) that someone beat me to it! I was going to call it “Half Baked.” Awesome, right? Right? I’m right. Well, it turns out there is already a book out there about a Mom of a Micro preemie and it’s called “Half Baked.” Boo. And, side note, where was that book in my engine searches last summer???? Double boo. Any witty “quick-phrase-that-says-incomplete-pregnancy” titles you think of, please comment here. I will take them into consideration. Thanks!

3 thoughts on “I’m going for it

  1. Judy Beadle says:

    Jen….I am SO happy you have decided to do this. Many times I know I said casually “you should write a book” but I was serious. I feel your insight and gift of expressing your feelings are so special and could benefit so many others experiencing similar situations. Sometimes when we are faced with the challenge of having a micropremie we can not see the purpose God had in what is happening. Your continued faith and belief of His love have carried you through many stressful situations. The mix of honest feelings, both good and bad, and your great sense of humor would be the great basis for your book. I agree with Pup…… GO FOR IT!!!
    Like you mention…wouldn’t it have been nice to have read what one mom experienced before you had Abby? Now is the time to share this with other families. So proud of you Judy

Leave a Reply

