Buried

There are very few chores that I HATE. Doing the dishes is one of them. So, I just don’t do them. Anthony is in charge of that. I also hate taking out the trash. Something Anthony is also in charge of. But don’t worry – I share the weight. Chores I don’t mind include: Vacuuming, cleaning the bathrooms, and “tidying up.” So I am in charge of all of those. But one of those middle of the road chores for me is Laundry. I don’t hate it the way i hate the dishes, but it’s nowhere near as fun as vacuuming.

Dusting is really the only thing we BOTH hate, and so it often gets forgotten. Oops! But Anthony and I split the chores around the house pretty evenly, and laundry was one of the chores I got.  Before Abigail was born, that wasn’t so bad. 1 or 2 loads a week, and I was in good shape! But with burp cloths, bibs, 1-2 outfits a day, sheets, blankets, and about a gazillion socks, I’m doing 1-2 loads of laundry for her every week. Plus our normal laundry. I’m the Laundry queen!!! I feel like I am literally buried in laundry.

I think the hardest part is when she gets new clothes – because I have to wash everything before she can wear it. So the occasional “go buy a top because the laundry didn’t get done and I’ve got nothing to wear” doesn’t work. I’ve got to do the laundry no matter what. even when it is 1am, and I want to go to bed, but I know that Abby’s got nothing to wear tomorrow until I finish. The silver lining is that I don’t have to separate colors or anything like that – it all just gets dumped in at once, and we are good to go!

Then, I’ve just got to fold her tiny little onsies and hang her little jumpers and I can go sleep! Speaking of which – the dryer just buzzed! Gotta go!

-Jen

Leave a Reply

