Flying Solo

I’m the luckiest girl in the world. I truly married by best friend.

Anthony and I are about 3 months away from our second wedding Anniversary. But that sounds so short, compared to how long we’ve been a team. We met in 2003, and started dating in 2004. We’ve been each other’s go-to person for close to a decade now. And I will be the first to admit that I HATE being away from him. At this point, he isn’t just my husband or my best friend or the father of my child. He is my other half. We are totally in sync with each other. We think the same. We can finish each other’s thoughts. We work in tandem…”Tag-teaming it” as we call it. I know it sounds cheesy, but he really is the Ying to my Yang.

Well, for the first time since we brought Abigail home in late August, I’m down a teammate. Anthony is off hunting for the weekend with his Dad and one of his Brothers. They hunt pheasant, and love the sport… plus most of the Francis Clan loves eating pheasant, so we all win! I’m so glad he went and got some good quality time in with the guys. It’s good for him to get away, and to have that close family time. But, of course, that means that Abigail and I are flying solo this weekend. I’m 100% on my own overnight for the first time with a child. It’s nerve-wracking and thrilling all at the same time.

I’ve jam-packed the weekend with outings and visits, so I’m not really alone. And my parents live 15 minutes away, so if I needed back up for any reason, it is just a phone call away. Those little security blankets make it much easier to run the show alone. Being a “Single parent” for a few days takes some maneuvering, and A LOT of thinking ahead, but it is easier than I thought it would be. Abby was happy to play with me all afternoon and evening. Abby is used to me putting her to bed, so she went down just fine. And she is always happy to see family. They make her smile. So we’ll spend time with family during the day, and keep to our routines at night. And that will be that!

I’m happy that I have the opportunity to do this. It’s a good feeling to know that I can take care of everything on my own. It sort of boosts my ego, you know? But I can already tell you, I will be super happy to have my partner in crime back on Sunday night. Not even 12 hours have gone by and I miss him. The house is WAY too quiet without him. But I am enjoying my “Me” time, with the freedom to watch whatever stupid thing I want on the TV, or spend endless time on the computer. And I like having Sunday night to look forward to. I know Abby will light up when he walks through that door. It’s a wonderful sight to see! And the team will be back to normal.

Goodnight everyone! Wish me luck!

-Jen

One thought on “Flying Solo

  1. Ah sweet alone time…I have 3 days of it next week. I so love my hus…but I absolutly love being by myself, always have. Prob why bedrest in the hospital wasn’t so lonely.

Leave a Reply

