Volume Control

I am afraid my neighbors might think we are hurting Abigail or something. I promise, it is NOT the case. But, with all the screaming, I would question it, too.

Abigail is discovering volume control. At first, this was very cute. She would yell out a small, high-pitched tone that lasted a fraction of a second. Now…she is shreeking at the top of her lungs, and drawing it out as long as her little diaphragm will allow.

*AAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH!*

And then she giggles. Yea, sweetie… very funny.

It wouldn’t be so bad it if was just one or two screams. But no, its more like 5-7 minutes of screaming at a time. She isn’t hurt, or upset, or even tired. She is simply expressing to me, and the world, that she has a voice and has figured out how to use it.

For the most part, it is funny and cute. There are a few times when Anthony and I are like, “Abigail! Shhhhh! It’s ok!” but otherwise, it is all in good fun. I’m told it is a phase. Her OT thinks it is fabulous. Abigail’s vocal skills are far beyond that of her corrected age. Actually it is much closer to her real age, which we are so thankful for! So we’ll weather the storm of screaming and yelling as she gets control of her voice and her volume. I just hope I have enough Aleave on hand to survive it all.

Anyone know anything about ear plugs? πŸ˜‰ J/K

-Jen

One thought on “Volume Control

  1. Rachel says:

    I’ve learned to embrace Cam’s screaming (he just turned one year!) in the car and now I join him. He screams at me and I scream right back- so it’s become a game. Thankfully, I’m just a loving aunt and don’t have to live with it all the time πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

