Confessions of a Disney Kid, part 2

Jen confession #102: I listen to Radio Disney.

Yup, I do. I listened to it when I was a kid. It was so cool, because it was the most popular music for youngsters all day, every day. It was prizes only kids could win. It was a station my parents let me listen to WHENEVER I wanted to. I didn’t even have to ask to put that station on. It was pre-approved.

Eventually, my sister and I outgrew the station, making way for STAR 98.7 and KROQ, but Radio Disney kept chugging along without me. I stopped listening when I got into HS, so when I was about 14? That was about 15 years ago! But now that Abigail is in the backseat of the SUV, I wanted to make sure that the music she was hearing was kid-friendly. So my good old friend, Radio Disney, got its own “favorites” button on our dashboard.

Listening to it brought back SO MANY memories of my sister and I, in the car, begging my parents to let us listen to this channel. Truth be told, I think we listened to it so much that my parents were going to pull their hair out. So when I put it on for Abby, I thought it was going to get old fast. But, the Disney Kid in me smiled ear to ear.

Not gonna lie… I like Selena Gomez. I’m a HUGE Miley Cyrus fan. I’m even a little bit of a Bieber fan (who can resist when little Jayden Smith raps in Never Say Never?! Come on!). They play music I actually like to listen to! Taylor Swift, The Jonas Brothers, even Katy Perry! (Pretty much, only Firework, but still! I love that song!) I find myself turning up the volume when Miley sings “Party in the USA” or when Selena sings “Who Says.”

So, there you have it. My Disney Kid roots are showing. And I’m SO not ashamed that when Abby gets a little older, and says from the back seat, “Radio Disney, Mommy!” I’ll glance back in the review mirror and say, “You got it, hon!” And I’ll jam to whoever the teeny-boppers of her day are. Because good, clean, fun music will never get old for me.

-Jen

One thought on “Confessions of a Disney Kid, part 2

  1. Lauren says:

    Umnmm I used to love radio Disney too. I won two contests when I was younger. Once I won a slip n’ slide and the other time I won a Beanie Baby. So awesome.

Leave a comment