Different Points of Veiw

I got to put on HEELS the other night. It was thrilling. Thrilling.

I got my first night out with the girls since Abby came home. My best friend/sister-in-law, (E), invited me and our cousin, (T), out to The Melting Pot. Have you ever eaten there? T and I had not – and truth be told, both of us had the attitude of “What’s the big deal about melted cheese?” Ha! We discovered how wrong we were! It was AH-MAY-ZING! Amazing enough to write a whole “tangent” post about… But this post is not about how incredible melted cheese (or more importantly, melted chocolate) is… This post is about something I realized while the three of us got some much-needed girl talk in.

A night out with two of my best girls takes a while…we always have a TON to talk about. But since this was one of the first times I really got to hang out and let my hair down, we realized that I haven’t really had an opportunity to talk to anyone but immediate family about what went down last June from their points of view. T had met Abigail on a couple of occasions already, but I hadn’t gotten to hear how she felt or what she went through when she got the news that Abigail had arrived. Truth be told, at the time, I wasn’t in any frame of mind to deal with other points of view. But now that we are here, at a great place, I do find myself very curious about how Abigail effected everyone else.

I finally got a small insight into T’s side of the story. She told me that she had an internal struggle – Even though E had gotten her information, and told her all was as well as could be expected, that wasn’t enough. She wanted so badly to drive herself over to the hospital to see for herself that I was ok. She restrained herself, which was a good call. But she expressed to me how worried she was for us and how every bit of information she could get her hands on was like a wave of relief. I’m glad the blog helped other people who cared deeply about us to feel more connected to us. Hearing her talk about it, I couldn’t help but feel so blessed that friends and family were thinking of us, even when I couldn’t think about anything but Abby.

E chimed in with parts of her story that I had never heard before. She didn’t tell me these things because (at the time) they weren’t important. But to hear her talk about how she literally fell to her knees on her living room floor to pray for our and Abigail’s safety made me well up with tears. It made me realize that Abigail’s story is SO much bigger than the side I’m telling. I’m just one point of view. And while my side is probably the most detailed and easily the longest, it isn’t the whole story.

I want Abigail to know the whole story someday. I want her to know the kind if impact she had on this world. Because I know she did have an amazing impact, and still does. I want to know everyone else’s side of the story. I want to hear what all of you, who tuned in religiously every time I wrote, went through as we were fighting all of those battles last summer. In fact, a couple of family members that were there with us that day are writing their own accounts of those first few days. I can’t wait to read those stories. We love you all, and we felt so connected with all of you through your prayers and support and well wishes. So please, if you have a point of view that you would like Abigail (or me) to hear, leave it in the comments section of this blog. Or you can email it to me at francis.jenifer@gmail.com

I plan on putting all of these blogs and all of their comments, along with all of the letters, emails, FB posts, and cards we got this year, together in a book for Abigail to have when she is old enough to understand just how special she is. I would love for your point of view to be a part of it.

Once again, thank you to all of you who’ve been there, on the periphery, lending strength and support for us to get through this crazy chapter of our lives. We owe you all a debt of gratitude! And I would love to hear Abigail’s story from your point of view.

-Jen

One thought on “Different Points of Veiw

  1. Julie Mazer says:

    Well,Jen, of course I can’t claim the closeness of your nearest and dearest. I worked with your dad years ago, and always thought he was such a wonderful human being–full of intellengence, kindness, and gracious manners. Later when I volunteered in the schools to direct shows he kindly donated his expertise(ah what a polish clever editing of music can add to a show and HOW key change options help young, struggling singers!) in music editing to help make our productions a big success. When Abby’s story came into my life, my heart first wrenched for her grandpa–MY connection to your family. Then, through your blog I began to feel I knew YOU and couldn’t help but fall in love with angel Abby. Your story was so compelling and lifted me up especially on nights where I was up late monitoring my daughter’s blood sugar(Type 1 Diabetes) I’m up late now(it’s 1:26 am) doing just that. I thought it was too late to reply to you but felt compelled to do it anyway; didn’t want your email to get lost in my busy shuffle. So, dear Abby, when you are old enough to read this , just know that even though I never see you guys (except for occasional rare visits with your grandpa Chris) I am connected to you. You may never meet me but I’ll always love you and be pulling for you. You’ve touches my life and made it better—just by existing. Thank you, Little Angel, your amazing mom and the rest of your wonderful family for all they bring to you and the world. May peace and joy fill your life always. Your friend forever—-Julie Mazer

Leave a Reply

