Baby Francis, the Heirloom Tomato

Wednesday, April 28th, 2010

Sorry folks – Anthony and I promise to get better about the pictures we promised! But we forgot again this weekend. Time just got away from us! We were too busy having fun re-organizing our little apartment, and playing with our niece, Laila. We got to take her swimming and everything! OH – and she knows that Peep “lives” in my tummy. She will come looking for Peep, lift up my shirt, poke my belly button and say, “Hi Peep!” Sometimes she waves at my tummy, too. *sigh* It is just too cute.

Anywho – Ok, wiki time. Because, to me, “tomato” is a step back from “bell pepper.” Right? I mean, I don’t think I’ve ever seen a tomato bigger than a bell pepper – unless it was on steroids! But it specifically said “Heirloom” tomatoes – and truth be told, I have no idea what that is. So, here we go – lesson for the day:

Wikipedia says: An heirloom tomato (also called heritage tomato in the UK) is an open-pollinated (non-hybrid) heirloom cultivar of tomato. Heirloom tomatoes have become increasingly popular and more readily available in recent years.

Picture:

Ok, so I guess some of those really big ones can be bigger than a bell pepper. So, I’ll buy it. But I want a better comparison next week! 😉

So this week marks 19 weeks. That means that in just 3 days, we will be at the half way mark of our journey. Can you believe it???? HALF WAY!!! It’s gone by so fast.

Peep’s updates include hair!!! And not just peach fuzz. Peep is starting to sprout hair on the top of her head. And the brain under that hair is developing! He is developing smell, taste, hearing, vision, and touch. The most important of which, is hearing! Story time!

So, this week, everything has been telling us that it is possible that Peep can start to hear us. So we decided to try. Anthony and I went to Target to buy some headphones (we only had ipod earbuds around the house!) that stretch and flex. Then, Anthony set up his sound system in the livingroom (as opposed to the office) where I could easily hook up his computer and access our Itunes list. We sat on the couch together and got ready to play music for Peep for the first time. I told Anthony to pick the first set to play, and got all giddy and happy when I heard what was coming over the headphones. Anthony picked our song, “Everything” by Michael Buble (which we did our first dance to at our wedding) as the first piece of music for Peep to hear. Again, *sigh*. I love him.

We continued on with that particular album, and the best things started to happen! During the slow songs, I couldn’t feel much. Not all that exciting. But the uptempo songs helped me realize that Peep can, in fact, hear just fine! During “World on a String” Peep started kicking me. And not just these little flutters I’ve been having. No, no – full on kicking. Thud. Thud. Thud. I grabbed Anthony’s hand, placed it on my tummy where I could feel the little thuds, and Anthony could faintly feel them, too!!! He got this big goofy grin on his face and I was just so happy. It’s official! We’ve both felt the baby move. It was awesome.

We plan on alternating between reading to the baby and playing music before bed as often as we can. Anthony doesn’t want to play music daily, as he fears too much noise might hurt Peep’s ears. I smiled and agreed – not because I believe that, but because Daddy has only a few opinions, so I take them seriously when they appear. And I think alternating between music and our actual voices is a good way to go. Any suggestions for music to play? I’m going to ask my dad to put together something, as he is the music guru!

That is really it for now. It’s been an eventful week and it isn’t even half over yet! Can’t wait to see what the next couple of days bring!!!

-Jen

3 thoughts on “Baby Francis, the Heirloom Tomato

  1. Tom says:

    You can always start Peep on the road to musical theatre, can’t go wrong there. Or classic Disney songs. You can combine classical music with Disney. I have an album called Bibbity Bobbity Bach, Disney songs in the style of classical composers.

  2. Nancy says:

    How about have family members reading nursery rhymes and stories to Peep on tape. Also have those who have a voice sing lullabies and other children songs like Twinkle Twinkle little Star and Itsy-Bitsy Spider.

Leave a Reply

